Red Carpet News


The 2011 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominations were announced today in Los Angeles. Eva Mendes and Jeremy Renner presented the nominations, and 2011 Spirit Awards host, Joel McHale was also in attendance.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards will be handed out on Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 2:00 p.m. on the beach in Santa Monica. The 26th annual awards show will air exclusively that night on IFC at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT. Winners of the Filmmaker Grants will be highlighted during the Spirit Awards and announced at the 2011 Spirit Awards Nominee Brunch celebration on Saturday, January 15th at BOA Steakhouse in West Hollywood.

Click here to join Red Carpet Roxy on Twitter.

image: associated press


BEST FEATURE (Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not listed)

127 Hours Producers: Danny Boyle, Christian Colson, John Smithson
Black Swan Producers: Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver
Greenberg Producers: Jennifer Jason Leigh, Scott Rudin
The Kids Are All Right Producers: Gary Gilbert, Philippe Hellmann, Jordan Horowitz, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray, Daniela Taplin Lundberg
Winter’s Bone Producers: Alix Madigan-Yorkin, Anne Rosellini


Darren Aronofsky Black Swan
Danny Boyle 127 Hours
Lisa Cholodenko The Kids Are All Right
Debra Granik Winter’s Bone
John Cameron Mitchell Rabbit Hole


Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko The Kids Are All Right
Debra Granik, Anne Rosellini Winter’s Bone
Nicole Holofcener Please Give
David Lindsay-Abaire Rabbit Hole
Todd Solondz Life During Wartime

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

Everything Strange and New Director: Frazer Bradshaw

Producers: A.D. Liano, Laura Techera Francia

Get Low Director: Aaron Schneider
Producers: David Gundlach, Dean Zanuck
Night Catches Us Director: Tanya Hamilton
Producers: Sean Costello, Jason Orans, Ronald Simons
The Last Exorcism Director: Daniel Stamm
Producers: Marc Abraham, Tom Bliss, Eric Newman, Eli Roth
Tiny Furniture Director: Lena Dunham
Producers: Kyle Martin, Alicia Van Couvering


Diane Bell Obselidia
Lena Dunham Tiny Furniture
Nik Fackler Lovely, Still
Bob Glaudini Jack Goes Boating
Dana Adam Shapiro, Evan M. Wiener Monogamy

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000.  Award given to the writer, director, and producer.  Executive Producers are not listed

Daddy Longlegs Writer/Directors: Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie

Producers: Casey Neistat, Tom Scott

Lbs. Director: Matthew Bonifacio

Writer/Producers: Matthew Bonifacio, Carmine Famiglietti

Lovers of Hate Writer/Director: Bryan Poyser

Producer: Megan Gilbride

Obselidia Writer/Director: Diane Bell

Producers: Chris Byrne, Mathew Medlin

The Exploding Girl Writer/Director: Bradley Rust Gray

Producers: Karin Chien, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim


Annette Bening The Kids Are All Right
Greta Gerwig Greenberg
Nicole Kidman Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence Winter’s Bone
Natalie Portman Black Swan
Michelle Williams Blue Valentine


Ronald Bronstein Daddy Longlegs
Aaron Eckhart Rabbit Hole
James Franco 127 Hours
John C. Reilly Cyrus
Ben Stiller Greenberg


Ashley Bell The Last Exorcism
Dale Dickey Winter’s Bone
Allison Janney Life During Wartime
Daphne Rubin-Vega Jack Goes Boating
Naomi Watts Mother and Child


John Hawkes Winter’s Bone
Samuel L. Jackson Mother and Child
Bill Murray Get Low
John Ortiz Jack Goes Boating
Mark Ruffalo The Kids Are All Right


Adam Kimmel Never Let Me Go
Matthew Libatique Black Swan
Jody Lee Lipes Tiny Furniture
Michael McDonough Winter’s Bone
Harris Savides Greenberg

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director)

Exit Through the Gift Shop Director: Banksy
Marwencol Director: Jeff Malmberg
Restrepo Directors: Tim Hetherington, Sebastian Junger
Sweetgrass Directors: Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Thunder Soul Director: Mark Landsman

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the director)

Director: Lance Daly
Mademoiselle Chambon
Director: Stéphane Brizé
Of Gods and Men
Director: Xavier Beauvois
The King’s Speech

(United Kingdom)

Director: Tom Hooper
Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives
Director: Apichatpong Weerasethakul

image: associated press

ACURA SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 17th annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.

Hossein Keshavarz Dog Sweat
Laurel Nakadate The Wolf Knife
Mike Ott Littlerock

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 14th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

In-Ah Lee Au Revoir Taipei
Adele Romanski The Myth of the American Sleepover
Anish Savjani Meek’s Cutoff

AVEENO® TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 16th annual AVEENO® Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by AVEENO®.

Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor Sweetgrass
Jeff Malmberg Marwencol
Lynn True, Nelson Walker Summer Pasture

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

Please Give Director: Nicole Holofcener
Casting Director: Jeanne McCarthy
Ensemble Cast: Ann Guilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith, Sarah Steele

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Red Carpet News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>